KLE's 100th Foundation Day Celebrations

The 100th Foundation Day of the KLE Society was celebrated on Nov 14th 2015 at a function organized at KLE Centenary Convention Centre, J.N. Medical College Campus, Belagavi. The event marked the commencement of the 100th year of selfless service by the KLE Society. Shri.  A.S. Kiran Kumar, Chairman ISRO was the Chief Guest of the function which was graced by the holy presence of Shri. Siddheshwar Swamiji of Jnanayogashram, Vijapur. Various achievers of the KLE Family including students and faculty were felicitated for their accomplishments at the International, national and state level; 73 gold medals, 77 Silver medals, 4 trophies were conferred on the achievers besides of Certificate of Merit to 222 students from KLE Society’s institutions.

Speaking on the occasion, KLE Society Chairman Dr. Prabhakar Kore paid rich tributes to the founding fathers of the KLE Society, the seven teachers (Saptarishis) who established the organization in the form of a single Anglo Vernacular School at Belagavi in 1916. Expressing satisfaction over the growth of the organization from a single school into a group of 250 institutions in Education, Healthcare, Agriculture and Research, he attributed the success of KLE Society to the blessings of the founding fathers and the support and patronage of the donors and society at large. Dr. Kore laid special emphasis on the role of KLE in rural transformation through the establishment of schools, colleges and institutions of professional education. He highlighted the Centenary year initiatives KLES which include establishing providing basic and specialized healthcare right at the doorsteps to 1,00,000 beneficiaries and free Dental Health Checkup for 50,000 students from Government schools. He congratulated the achievers and thanked them for being wonderful ambassadors of the KLE Society.

Shri. A S Kirankumar, Chairman ISRO expressed immense satisfaction over the opportunity to be part of the 100th Foundation Day, especially since both ISRO and the KLE Society are both engaged in the common cause of national development. He hailed the efforts and resilience of the Saptarishis who established the KLE Society against all social and economic odds. Addressing an audience that comprised students and staff of the KLE Society, the prize winners, Members of the Board of Management, Special Guests and Well wishers, he presented an overview of the activities of ISRO and the importance of satellites and remote sensing technology in communication, mapping, weather forecasting, water resource identification, agriculture, fishery, etc. He helped the audience establish a perfect understanding of relation between the costs and the national benefits of the activities of ISRO. Emphasizing the role of the youth in nation building, he urged the new generation to make both scientific thinking and spiritual thinking an integral part of life.

In his address, his holiness Shir Siddheshwar Swamiji applauded the efforts of the KLE Society in Transforming lives through Education & Healthcare. Drawing attention to the true meaning and philosophy of life, he opined that, goodness and change often emerge out of small individual deeds and it was one such deed of the seven teachers that led to the establishment of KLE Society which in its 100th year of Service is playing a transformational role in nation building. He also applauded the role of KLE Society chairman Dr. Prabhakar Kore and his team of Members of the Board of Management in scripting the success story of the KLE Society.

Dr. Preeti Doddwad, Chairman Board of Life Members, KLE Society welcomed the gathering. Dr. Madhav Prabhu and Dr. Neha Dhaded compered the felicitation ceremony. Dr. B G Desai, Secretary, KLE Society proposed the vote of thanks. Dr Mahesh Gurangoudar and Dr. Avinash Kavi were Masters of the Ceremony which was attended by over 2000 people from within and beyond the KLE Family.

From Left to Right – Shri A. S. Kiran Kumar (Chairman of ISRO), Shri Ashok Bagewadi ( Vice Chairman Board of Management KLE Society), Shri Shivanand Koujalgi (President KLE Society), His Holiness Siddeshwar Mahaswamji of Jnanayogashrama, Vijaypur, Dr. Prabhakar Kore (Chairman KLE Society), Dr. Preeti Doddwad (Chairman, Board of Life Members, KLE Society), Dr. B G Desai (Secretary, Board of Management, KLE Society)

From Left to Right- Dr. Preeti Doddwad (Chairman, Board of Life Members, KLE Society), Shri Ashok Bagewadi (Vice Chairman Board of Management KLE Society), Shri Shivanand Koujalgi (President KLE Society) , His Holiness Siddeshwar Mahaswamji of Jnanayogashrama, Vijaypur, Shri A. S. Kiran Kumar (Chairman of ISRO), Dr. Prabhakar Kore (Chairman KLE Society), Dr. B G Desai (Secretary, Board of Management, KLE Society)

Share the Post